Little book – Big lesson

6 Comments

One of the best parts about being a blogger is the chance to share ideas and resources that can help others who have and work with children. There is power and knowledge in collaboration! Today, I’m excited to join a virtual book tour of “Spoonful of Sweetness and other delicious manners” by author Maria Dismondy.

Spoonful of Sweetness

Review of the book

Who knew that children could exhibit acts of kindness from the time they are infants? Children’s author Maria Dismondy makes this point clear and encourages the teaching of kindness and other powerful traits in her new board book “Spoonful of Sweetness.”

Each sturdy page pictures super cute and diverse babies showing character traits through their play. The traits include kindness, friendship, responsibility, empathy, respect, and courage.

What I love most about this book is how simply each trait is written about and shown through the realistic play of each baby. I have always believed that children learn the most through play and discovery, and Maria captures this beautifully on every page. I love that Maria shows how simple it can be to help young children begin to learn manners – it’s as easy as waving, saying hello, smiling, and picking up toys! What a great start to life every child would have if these behaviors were modeled and encouraged.

As an Elementary School Counselor, I have much appreciation for families who model and teach their children pro-social behaviors from an early age. “Spoonful of Sweetness” is an excellent resource for any parent, teacher, or counselor who believes in setting their child up for social and emotional success, in school and in life!

Other children’s books by Maria

Spaghetti in a Hot Dog Bun

The Potato Chip Champ

Pink Tiara Cookies for Three

The Juice Box Bully (co-authored by Bob Sornson)

More about Maria

Maria

Maria Dismondy is a #1 best-selling children’s book author, former teacher, and highly sought-after speaker. Spoonful of Sweetness is her 5th children’s book. Maria has a passion for spreading an anti-bullying message and making a difference in her writing, public speaking, blogging, and charity work. She lives in southeastern Michigan with her husband and children.

Maria’s website: www.mariadismondy.com (go here for a FREE parent/teacher guide and a FREE coloring page!)

Maria’s Facebook page: facebook.com/mariadismondy

Book giveaway!

Maria was kind enough to offer a free, autographed copy of “Spoonful of Sweetness” to one of my readers! If you’d like to enter for a chance to get a free copy of this adorable book, all you have to do is comment on this post with a reason you’d like to have this book or how you’d use this book with the young children in your own life. All entries will be accepted until 11:59 p.m. Saturday, January 25, 2014. I will review all comments and pick one winner! I will contact you for your mailing address and Maria will send you your free copy.

Good luck and thanks for reading! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Little book – Big lesson

  1. In a counseling meeting this morning, our team talked about how important “small” social skills are (how to introduce one’s self, how to eat with manners, etc.) and the foundation they create for being a successful citizen and productive member of the workforce someday. I would use this book in Kindergarten to help being that foundation.

  2. What an absolutely beautiful way to share character traits with the primary grades. I know my students would be able to relate to the ‘characters’ displayed in Maria’s book! One of my FAVORITE books to use with my 3rd – 5th graders is “The Juice Box Bully”!! They LOVE it! I would be THRILLED to add this special book, “Spoonful of Sweetness” to my collection of guidance lesson materials for my K-2nd graders! Thank you for sharing this with all of us! 🙂

  3. As I am reading about this new book I am thinking of one Kindergarten girl who I am starting to see today. She is new to the school and has been throwing fits and tantrums in her classroom. I believe that this little book could help me relay the message of quality character traits to her. The easy pictures and simple message sound like it would be right on her level as she is behind the average KDG level.
    I also have two small ones at home, a 15 month old and almost 3 year old. I would also use this book to teach my own children the character traits that I want to see evident in their play. So many more uses for this book I’m sure I can use such as small groups with KDG and 1st graders and even in a school counselor lesson.

    • Also just thought about sharing this book with incoming Kindergarten parents when they have their KDG Round up and see the school. I could also incorporate it during my monthly “Coffee with the Counselors” as a resource for parents to use at home with their children! Soooo many uses! 🙂 Love it!

  4. HI! As counselors we are busy making sure students get the big ideas out of our lessons, but the building blocks towards that big idea are often overlooked. If I win a copy of this book (or end up buying it) I will use it in my lessons with Kindergartener’s to make sure we have the manners and basic character traits down before we move on to bigger ideas. We can use this book to learn an overview of the information, and then I think it would be fun to have the students create skits acting out the skills they learned in the book. I will save the skits for us to watch later in the school year and later in their school years—like when they are about to leave elementary school to head to 4th grade. 🙂 I also have two young children ages 22 months and 4 months and I will use this book at home to instill “sweetness” in them at a young age as well!

Leave a Reply

