Creating Newsletters

4 Comments

newsletter%20pic

About a year and a half ago, I started creating a monthly School Counselor Newsletter that is distributed to parents. I include it in my school’s weekly newsletter that is already sent home. I must say, creating a newsletter each month is a lot of work! But, it’s also fun and it’s a great way to communicate with parents. Each month focuses on a different topic that relates to school counseling, parenting, and/or education. I also usually include a blurb about what I’m currently doing in classrooms with students.

I keep my newsletters small, only a page, and I create them using a Word document. I often include meaningful quotes, pictures, and information from sources that I research. When I’m finished, I like there to be a balance of information about the topic I’m writing about, resources for parents/teachers to check out, ideas for parents/teachers to use with their kids, and classroom lessons that I’m doing.

I like putting out newsletters because it gets my name out there to parents, staff, and administration over and over. The newsletters highlight that the job I do is important and that I’m a valuable part of my school’s team!

Here are a few examples of my School Counselor Newsletter that I have created in the last year:
School Counselor Newsletter October 2012
School Counselor Newsletter November/December 2012
School Counselor Newsletter March 2013
School Counselor Newsletter May 2013
School Counselor Newsletter June 2013

4 thoughts on “Creating Newsletters

  1. As we all know, becoming a parent doesn’t come with instructions. It was a guidance counselor in my children’s school who influenced and changed our home with wonderful influence. She shared parenting skills that were most effective and we quickly went from frustration to positivity and calmness which allowed more time for the good stuff. The next year her job was cut from the budget and I am so sad for families who don’t have the benefits from a school guidance counselor. Kayla, your newsletters for parents with tidbits is perfect and I’m sure touches and helps most families in some way. From all the Mom’s out there, thank you for making the extra effort to do this!

  2. “Creating Newsletters | The School Counselor Kind” seriously enables me personally ponder a small bit more.
    I actually admired every individual part of this post.
    I appreciate it ,Beulah

  3. Pingback: For the love of formatting | The School Counselor Kind

  4. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually enjoged reading it, you may be
    a great author.I will always bookmark your bkog and wll often come back in the foreseeable
    future. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your
    great job, have a nice morning!

Leave a Reply

